Sunday, May 8, 2011

Deakin University

Deakin University (or simply DU) is an Australian public university with nearly 40,000 higher education students in 2010. It receives more than A$600 million in operating revenue annually, and controls more than A$1.3 billion in assets. It received more than A$35 million in research income in 2009 and had 835 research students in 2010. In 2009, its academics authored 33 books, 233 refereed conference papers, and 705 refereed journal papers. It has campuses in the coastal cities of: Geelong, Melbourne, and Warrnambool, Victoria. The University was named after the leader of the Australian federation movement and the nation's second Prime Minister, Alfred Deakin.


1977-1983 - Peter Thwaites
1983-1987 - Austin Asche
1987-1996 - James Leslie
1997-2005 - Richard Searby
2005–present - David M. Morgan

1977-1985 - Frederic Jevons
1986-1991 - Malcolm Skilbeck
1992-1996 - John A. Hay
1997-2002 - Geoff Wilson
2003-2010 - Sally Walker
2010-present - Jane den Hollander
Notable Associates of the University

Frank Costa Businessman and Philanthropist
Lindsay Fox Businessman and Philanthropist
Brett Lee Australian Cricketer and Deakin India Research Institute (DIRI) associate.

Awards and achievements
Deakin has won the prestigious Australian University of the Year award twice. The first award came in 1995-1996 for "Outstanding Technology in Education" in which the then Prime Minister of Australia, Paul Keating presented Deakin with the award and commended it on its success despite its lack of "sandstones" referring to its short period of existence as a university.
On 25 August 1999, Deakin won its second award when it tied with the University of Wollongong to win the 1999-2000 prize. Deakin's success was for its "Outstanding Education and Training Partnerships". In presenting the award, the Federal Treasurer Peter Costello commended Deakin and Wollongong in stating: "These are two great institutions. They are the best of the best at what they do".
Deakin was also commended with seven Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning at the 2010 Australian Learning and Teaching Council Awards.
In 2005, Deakin's Library was nationally acknowledged for the outstanding provision of off-campus services in the Australian Awards for University Teaching.

Notable faculty
Professor Peter Hodgson, 2009 Australian Laureate Fellow
John Jonas, Birks Professor of Metallurgy, McGill University: Visiting Professor.
Jim Kennan, Former Politician, Adjunct Professor of Law
Ross Oakley, Former Australian Football League CEO: Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Business and Law
Hugh O'Neill, University of Melbourne: Adjunct Professor, Cultural Heritage Centre for Asia and the Pacific.
David Parkin, Former coach of Carlton and Hawthorn Football Clubs: Lecturer in Exercise Science.
Justice Mark Weinberg, Chief Justice of Norfolk Island: Adjunct Professor, School of Law.

Deakin is one of Australia's fastest growing research universities. Its combined research funding had increased from A$4.5 million in 1997 to A$35 million in 2010.
In its 2010 allocations, the Australian Research Council awarded Deakin 13 Discovery and 10 Linkage Round 1 awards. The wins placed Deakin 16th in the number of Discovery Grants awarded and equal 6th in the number of Linkage grants awarded amongst Australian Universities.
It has developed meaningful, reciprocal research and educational partnerships in India with the official opening of the Deakin India Research Institute (DIRI) in Hyderabad and more than 50 other Indian research partners.

Article and Logo Source:

For more Details and Consult contact: 
Worldvision Immigration and Educational Services Nepal Pvt Ltd
Putalisadak, Kathmandu, Nepal
Tel : 977-01-4221812
Tel: 977-01- 4226244
Fax : 977-01- 014226244
Email :


No comments:

Blogger news

Custom Search